Introductory Post

Definition of Digital Vistors & Digital Residents
Digital Visitors – “an individual who uses the web as a tool in an organized manner whenever the need arises.” These individuals use the Internet for a goal, but do not need to, or have to, reply to it.

Digital Residents – an individual who lives a percentage of their life online. The web supports the projection of their identity and facilitates relationships.” These people want to and do, do a vast majority of socializing and ‘living’ through their professional and social network online.

(David Hopkins, 2009)

Who am I?
Using the table (Nic Fair, 2016) shown below, there are a few simple questions that help to assess which category do people fall under.

Hello There (4)

Upon assessing using the table, I categorize myself under digital resident.
1. Checking my social media profile when I wake up before I sleep and anytime when I have nothing to do.

2. I do not explore websites; I usually stick to the ones that I am familiar and regular with.

3. I love engaging online, especially on social media. Commenting on my friend’s post or posts that are of my area of interest.

4. Shopping online? I can confidently state that I am the queen of online shopping! Always on the hunt for great deals!

5. Yes, going online doesn’t mean I have something to do. Instead, I have nothing to do, and I surf the net to look for things to do!

 

So hello internet, I am a new resident on the block! Looking forward to learning new things through the module #mang2049 Living and Working on the Web!

Are you a digital resident (like me? HELLO!) or a digital visitor (WELCOME!)

 

References:
David Hopkins (2009). Digital Native/Immigrant … or Resident/Visitor? – Technology Enhanced Learning Blog. [online] Available at: http://www.dontwasteyourtime.co.uk/elearning/digital-natvie-immigrant-or-resident-visitor/ [Accessed 9 Nov. 2017].

Picture credits: Tax Collection

(Word count: 294)

Leave a comment